« home contact me print

 

Schedule HIS 246

1 Thu Jan 29
Introduction and Evidence
MATHISEN: 3-13
GILGAMESH: Introduction

2 Tue Feb 3
The Neolithic World and the Invention of Civilization
MATHISEN: 14–30
GILGAMESH: Tablet 1 (see below for page numbers)

3 Thu Feb 5
The Rise of Sumer
MATHISEN: 37–51
GILGAMESH: Tablet 2

4 Tue Feb 10
The Kings and Gods of Sumer
Themes in The Epic of Gilgamesh

MATHISEN: 51–58
GILGAMESH: Tablet 5

Thu Feb 12
No meeting (Lincoln’s Birthday)

5 Tue Feb 17
The Semitic Empires of Mesopotamia
MATHISEN: 58–72
GILGAMESH: Tablet 6

6 Thu Feb 19
Egypt: Gift of the Nile
MATHISEN: 74–89
GILGAMESH: Tablet 7

7 Tue Feb 24
The Evolution of Egypt
MATHISEN: 89–105
GILGAMESH: Tablet 11

8 Thu Feb 26
Canaan in the Bronze Age
Minoans, Mycenaeans, and the Collapse of the Bronze Age
MATHISEN: 107–121

9 Tue Mar 3
Iron Age Canaan: Phoenicians, Philistines, and Hebrews
Essay #1 Due (On The Epic of Gilgamesh)
MATHISEN: 121–134

10 Thu Mar 5
Empire of the Sword: The Assyrians
MATHISEN: 136–149

11 Tue Mar 10
The Model Empire: The Persians
MATHISEN: 149–162

12 Thu Mar 12
The Homeric Society: The Greek Dark Age
MATHISEN: 167–179

13 Tue Mar 17
Midterm Exam

14 Thu Mar 19
Polis, Hoplites, and Colonies: The Greek Archaic Age
MATHISEN: 179–193
CLOUDS: Introduction

15 Tue Mar 24
Two Extremes: Sparta and Athens
MATHISEN: 196–209
CLOUDS: Section 1 (see below for page numbers)

16 Thu Mar 26
The Greeks and Persia
The Golden Age of Athens
MATHISEN: 210–222
CLOUDS: Section 2

17 Tue Mar 31
War Between the Greeks
MATHISEN: 223–234
CLOUDS: Section 3

18 Thu Apr 2
The Rise of Macedon and the Age of Alexander
MATHISEN: 237–253
CLOUDS: Section 4

April 3–11
Spring Break

19 Tue Apr 14
The Hellenistic World
Themes in The Clouds
MATHISEN: 268–280
CLOUDS: Section 5

20 Thu Apr 16
Asia Beyond the Mediterranean
The Civilizations of Northern Africa

MATHISEN: 284–303
CLOUDS: Section 6

21 Tue Apr 21
Early Italy
MATHISEN: 310–311, 325–334

22 Thu Apr 23
The Roman Republic
MATHISEN: 334–347

23 Tue Apr 28
Carthage and Rome
Essay #2 Due (On The Clouds)
MATHISEN: 303–308, 342–352

24 Thu Apr 30
Roman Acquisition of Empire
MATHISEN: 352–359, 361–364

25 Tue May 5
The Roman Revolution
MATHISEN: 364–378

26 Thu May 7
Triumvirates and Principate
MATHISEN: 378–391

27 Tue May 12
The Age of Augustus
MATHISEN: 393–407

28 Thu May 14
The First Century of the Roman Principate
Essay #3 Due (On Representations & Images)
MATHISEN: 407–421

Thu May 21
Final Exam (8:30–10:30 a.m.)

Important dates

Tue Feb 17 Last day to drop
Wed Feb 18 Monday classes meet
Apr 3–11 Spring Break
Thu Apr 16 Deadline to withdraw with a W
Tue Mar 3 Essay #1 Due (on Gilgamesh)
Tue Apr 28 Essay #2 Due (on The Clouds)
Thu May 14 Essay #3 Due (on Representations)
Tue Mar 17 Midterm Exam
Thu May 21 Final Exam

Tablets in The Epic of Gilgamesh

Page numbers refer to the Andrew George (Penguin) edition. Only the starred tablets (★) are assigned for meetings, though reading the whole thing might help you with your essay.

1. The Coming of Enkidu pages 1–11 Read for Feb 3
2. The Taming of Enkidu 12–22 Read for Feb 5
3. Preparations for the Expedition 22–29
4. The Journey to the Forest of Cedar 30–39
5. The Combat with Humbaba 39–47 Read for Feb 10
6. Ishtar and the Bull of Heaven 47–54 Read for Feb 17
7. The Death of Enkidu 54–62 Read for Feb 19
8. The Funeral of Enkidu 62–69
9. The Wanderings of Gilgamesh 70–75
10. At the Edge of the World 75–87
11. Immortality Denied 88–99 Read for Feb 24

Sections in The Clouds

Page numbers refer to the Meineck edition. Any good edition will have line numbers; see me if yours doesn’t. We are reading the whole play (it’s not very long).

1. Strepsiades’s Problem lines 1–132 pages 3–11 Read for Mar 24
2. The Thinkery lines 133–365 pages 11–28 Read for Mar 26
3. Gods and Memory lines 366–518 pages 28–36 Read for Mar 31
Clouds’ Response 1 518–626 37–42       ”
4. Hen and Cock lines 627–888 pages 42–61 Read for Apr 2
The Debate lines 889–1114 pages 61–75 Read for Apr 14
5. ¦  Clouds’ Response 2 1115–1130 75       ”
Old and New Day 1131–1213 76–80       ”
The Creditor lines 1214–1320 pages 81–88 Read for Apr 16
6. ¦  New Morality 1321–1492 88–98       ”
The Purge 1493–1510 98–100       ”