home : civilizations of the ancient world

contact me : click to print this page

 

Schedule

Origins

1 Wed Aug 28 Introduction and Evidence
Mon Sep 4 No classes
  Wed Sep 6 No classes
 
2 Mon Sep 9 Civilization
Introduction to The Epic of Gilgamesh

NAGLE: pages 1–6
GILGAMESH: Introduction (George xiii–xvi; xxxi–xxxii)
(optional: xxxii–li; xvi–xxx)

The Bronze Age

3 Wed Sep 11 Sumer and Akkad: The City-State
NAGLE: pages 6–16
GILGAMESH: Tablet 1
4 Mon Sep 16 Egypt: The King as God
NAGLE: pages 16–24; 32–40
GILGAMESH: Tablet 2
5 Wed Sep 18 The Indo-Europeans: Wheel, Horse, and Word
Themes in The Epic of Gilgamesh

NAGLE: pages 30–32
GILGAMESH: Tablet 5
6 Mon Sep 23 Minoans and Mycenaeans: Global Economy
NAGLE: pages 67–76
GILGAMESH: Tablet 6

The Iron Age

7 Wed Sep 25 Canaan: Seagoing Trade
NAGLE: pages 41–47
GILGAMESH: Tablet 7
8 Mon Sep 30 Babylon: Cultural Radiance
NAGLE: pages 26-30; 47-51
GILGAMESH: Tablet 11
9 Wed Oct 2 The Hebrews: A National God
NAGLE: pages 51–52; 58–66
10 Mon Oct 7 The Persians: The Secrets of Empire
Essay 1 (on The Epic of Gilgamesh) Due
NAGLE: pages 52–58
11 Wed Oct 9 Early Greeks and Italians: Origin Stories
NAGLE: pages 76–78; 194–203
  Mon Oct 14 No classes
12 Tue Oct 15 MIDTERM EXAM

The Greeks

13 Wed Oct 16 The Greek Archaic Age: Nobles and Commoners
NAGLE: pages 78–83; 93–103
THE CLOUDS: Introduction (Meineck pages vii–xlii)
14 Mon Oct 21 Sparta and Athens: The Greek Idea
Introduction to The Clouds

NAGLE: pages 83–93
THE CLOUDS: Section 1 (Meineck pages 3–11)
15 Wed Oct 23 The Persian Wars: Fighting for Hellas
The Classical Age: Civic Harmony

NAGLE: pages 103–108; 120–131
THE CLOUDS: Section 2 (Meineck pages 11–28)
16 Mon Oct 28 Athenian Society: Empowerment of the Citizen
NAGLE: pages 138–155
THE CLOUDS: Section 3 (Meineck pages 28–42)
17 Wed Oct 30 Late Classical Culture: Power and People
Themes in The Clouds

NAGLE: pages 131–138
THE CLOUDS: Section 4 (Meineck pages 42–61)
18 Mon Nov 4 War Among the Greeks: Empire and Hegemony
NAGLE: pages 108–119
THE CLOUDS: Section 5 (Meineck pages 61–80)
19 Wed Nov 6 The Rise of Macedon: Philip and Alexander
NAGLE: pages 157–167
THE CLOUDS: Section 6 (Meineck pages 81–100)
20 Mon Nov 11 Hellenistic Society: Cultural and Religious Synthesis
NAGLE: pages 167–180

The Romans

21 Wed Nov 13 The Early Republic: Patricians and Plebeians
NAGLE: pages 203–210
22 Mon Nov 18 The Acquisition of Empire
Essay 2 (on The Clouds) Due
NAGLE: pages 211–226
23 Wed Nov 20 Republican Society: Dignity, Honor, and Order
NAGLE: pages 226–240
24 Mon Nov 25 The Transformation of Roman Society
NAGLE: pages 241–253
Wed Nov 27 Friday classes meet
25 Mon Dec 2 Roman Revolution: Violence for the People
NAGLE: pages 253–266
26 Wed Dec 4 The Evolution of the Principate
NAGLE: pages 268–281
27 Mon Dec 9 The Nature of Empire: At Home and in the Field
NAGLE: pages 282–302
28 Wed Dec 11 The Crisis of Empire
Essay 3 (on Representations and Images) Due
NAGLE: pages 302–315

IMPORTANT DATES

Mon Sep 2 No classes
Wed Sep 4 No classes
Tue Sep 17 Last day to drop
Mon Oct 14 No classes
Tue Oct 15 Monday classes meet
Fri Nov 8 Deadline to withdraw
Wed Nov 27 Friday classes meet
Mon Oct 7 Essay 1 (on The Epic of Gilgamesh) due
Tue Oct 15 Midterm Exam
Mon Nov 18 Essay 2 (on The Clouds) due
Wed Dec 11 Essay 3 (on Representations and Images) due
Wed Dec 18 Final Exam (11 a.m. – 1 p.m.)

TABLETS IN THE EPIC OF GILGAMESH

Page numbers refer to the assigned Andrew George (Penguin) edition. Only the starred tablets are assigned for meetings.

1. The Coming of Enkidu* pages 1–11 Read for 9/11
2. The Taming of Enkidu* 12–22 Read for 9/16
3. Preparations for the Expedition 22–29
4. The Journey to the Forest of Cedar 30–39
5. The Combat with Humbaba* 39–47 Read for 9/18
6. Ishtar and the Bull of Heaven* 47–54 Read for 9/23
7. The Death of Enkidu* 54–62 Read for 9/25
8. The Funeral of Enkidu 62–69
9. The Wanderings of Gilgamesh 70–75
10. At the Edge of the World 75–87
11. Immortality Denied* 88–99 Read for 9/30

SECTIONS IN THE CLOUDS

Page numbers refer to the Meineck edition. Any good edition will have the line numbers; see me for help if yours doesn’t.

1. Strepsiades’s Problem lines 1–132 pages 3–11 Read for 10/21
2. The Thinkery lines 133–365 pages 11–28 Read for 10/23
3. Gods and Memory lines 366–518 pages 28–36 Read for 10/28
Clouds’ Response 1 518–626 37–42
4. Hen and Cock lines 627–888 pages 42–61 Read for 10/30
5. The Debate lines 889–1114 pages 61–75 Read for 11/4
Clouds’ Response 2 1115–1130 75
Old and New Day 1131–1213 76–80
6. The Creditor lines 1214–1320 pages 81–88 Read for 11/6
New Morality 1321–1492 88–98
The Purge 1493–1510 98–100