home : civilizations of the ancient world

click to print this page

 
Syllabus

Syllabus

CIVILIZATIONS OF THE ANCIENT WORLD
HIS 246      WILSON      SPRING 2012

 


Origins

1 Mon Jan 30
Introduction and Evidence

2 Wed Feb 1
Civilization
nagle:  pages 1–6

3 Mon Feb 6
The Indo-Europeans: Wheel, Horse, and Word
Introduction to The Epic of Gilgamesh

gilgamesh:  Tablet 1

The Bronze Age

4 Wed Feb 8
Sumer and Akkad: The City-State
nagle:  pages 6–16
gilgamesh:  Tablet 2

5 Wed Feb 15
Egypt: The King as God
nagle:  pages 16–24; 32–38
gilgamesh:  Tablet 5

6 Tue Feb 21
Monday classes meet
Hittites and Assyrians: War in the Bronze Age
nagle:  pages 26–32
gilgamesh:  Tablet 6

7 Wed Feb 22
Minoans and Mycenaeans: A Global Economy
nagle:  pages 67–76

gilgamesh:  Tablet 7

8 Mon Feb 27
The Collapse of the Bronze Age
Themes in The Epic of Gilgamesh

nagle:  pages 38–40
gilgamesh:  Tablet 11


The Iron Age

9 Wed Feb 29
Philistines and Phoenicians: Seagoing Trade
nagle:  pages 41–44

10 Mon Mar 5
Essay #1 (on The Epic of Gilgamesh) Due
Egypt and the Hebrews: A National God
nagle:  pages 44–47; 51–52; 58–66

11 Wed Mar 7
Neo-Assyrians and Babylon: Cultural Radiance
nagle:  pages 47–51

12 Mon Mar 12
The Persians: The Secrets of Empire
nagle:  pages 52–58

13 Wed Mar 14
Early Greeks and Italians: Origin Stories
nagle:  pages 76–78; 194–200

14 Mon Mar 19
MIDTERM EXAM


Tablets in The Epic of Gilgamesh

Page numbers refer to the assigned Andrew George (Penguin) edition. Only the starred tablets are assigned for class meetings.
1 The Coming of Enkidu* pages 1–11
2 The Taming of Enkidu* 12–22
3 Preparations for the Expedition 22–29
4 The Journey to the Forest of Cedar 30–39
5 The Combat with Humbaba* 39–47
6 Ishtar and the Bull of Heaven* 47–54
7 The Death of Enkidu* 54–62
8 The Funeral of Enkidu 62–69
9 The Wanderings of Gilgamesh 70–75
10 At the Edge of the World 75–87
11 Immortality Denied* 88–99


The Greeks

15 Wed Mar 21
The Polis: Citizen and Community
Introduction to The Clouds

nagle:  pages 78–83; 87–93
the clouds:  Introduction; Section 1

16 Mon Mar 26
Athens and Sparta: Interpreting the Greek Idea
nagle:  pages 83–87; 93–102
the clouds:  Section 2

17 Wed Mar 28
The Persian Wars: Fighting for Hellas
nagle:  pages 103–110; 120–124

the clouds:  Sections 3–4

18 Mon Apr 2
Classical Athens: Rise of the Citizen
nagle:  pages 124–131; 138–146
the clouds:  Section 5

19 Wed Apr 4
War Among the Greeks: Fighting for Hegemony
nagle:  pages 111–119; 147–155
the clouds:  Sections 6–8

20 Mon Apr 16
During and After the War: Disintegration
Themes in The Clouds

nagle:  pages 116–119; 131–138

the clouds:  Sections 9–11

21 Wed Apr 18
The Rise of Macedon and the Hellenistic East
nagle:  pages 156–167

The Romans

22 Mon Apr 23
Early Rome: Kings and Patricians
nagle:  pages 200–210

23 Wed Apr 25
Rome and Italy: Romanization
nagle:  pages 211–219

24 Mon Apr 30
Essay #2 (on The Clouds) Due
Carthage and the East: Acquisition of Empire
nagle:  pages 219–226

25 Wed May 2
Roman Society: Wealth, Gender, and Status
nagle:  pages 226–239

26 Mon May 7
The Transformation of the Republic
nagle:  pages 241–253

27 Wed May 9
The Roman Revolution: Violence for the People
nagle:  pages 253–266

28 Mon May 14
The Evolution of the Principate
nagle:  pages 268–281

Wed May 23
FINAL EXAM
11:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m. in CA 210


Sections in The Clouds

Page numbers refer to the assigned Marianetti edition. Any other good edition will have the line numbers; see me for help if yours doesn’t.
1. Strepsiades’s Problem lines 1–132 pages 14–20
2. The Thinkery 133–365 20–35
3. Gods and Memory 366–518 35–43
4. Clouds’ Response 518–626 43–46
5. Hen and Cock 627–888 46–65
6. The Debate 889–1114 65–77
7. Clouds’ Response 1115–1130 77–78
8. Old and New Day 1131–1213 78–82
9. The Creditor 1214–1320 82–89
10. New Morality 1321–1492 89–98
11. The Purge 1493–1510 98–100

 

Important Dates

Fri Jan 27 First day of classes
Mon Feb 13 Lincoln’s Birthday — No classes
Thu Feb 16 Last day to drop
Mon Feb 20 Presidents’ Day — No classes
Tue Feb 21 Monday classes meet
Apr 6–15 Spring Break
Thu Apr 19 Last day to withdraw with a W
Tue May 15 Last day of classes
 
Mon Mar 5 Essay #1 (on The Epic of Gilgamesh) due
Mon Mar 19 Midterm Exam
Mon Apr 23 Essay #2 (on The Clouds) due
Wed May 23 Final Exam